Joining ESAS

Everyone is welcome to attend with no obligation on the first visit but may be charged £4 to include a current issue of the ESAS newsletter, Albedo. Thereafter you can join at the appropriate subscription rate.  Non-members are not allowed to vote at meetings and members will take priority over non-members wanting to attend Society functions.

A copy of the ESAS membership form can be downloaded here.  Please complete and hand to the ESAS Treasurer with your membership fee.  If you are UK tax payer and provided that you agree, ESAS may claim Gift Aid on your membership subscription.  If you would like ESAS to claim Gift Aid on your subscription please inform the ESAS Treasurer.

ESAS requires that a minimum of personal information (name, address, telephone number and e-mail address) is retained on its database. Personal information provided by members will only be used by ESAS for (i) admistration purposes and (ii) to keep members informed of events and activities happening within ESAS or related areas. Personal data will not be transferred to third parties.


The current membership subscription rates are:

Individual Membership £20
Members on the Door £2
Non Members on the Door £4
Student Membership (Under 21 years of age) Free
Junior Membership (Under 18 years of age) Free

ESAS Committee and Contacts

ESAS elects its management committee at its AGM held on the first Thursday of November each year.  The committee serve for a period of one year and may subsequently stand for re-election.

If you need assistance then please contact one of the committee or its officers at either a Society meeting or through their contact details shown below. 

Honorary President: Sir Patrick Moore, CBE, FRS, FRAS 

Patron of ESAS : Professor Chris Lintott 


Management Committee 2017/18



~ Doug Edworthy
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  


Kay Hunting

Kay Hunting



Vice Chairman



 Outreach Co-ordinator
Paul Foster


Society Officers  


 Meetings Secretary
Gloria Kite





 Meetings Secretary
Charlie Kite 




Dave Williams
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



General Members  



 Dark Site Coordinator
Doug Edworthy




Dark Site Coordinator
David Williams


Committee Member
Nigel Martin


Albedo Editor: Doug Edworthy